Adnan Hemani for ASUC Senate


1. Improving Accessibility to Academic Resources for Engineers:
Enrollment in EECS/CS has almost doubled from 2009 to 2015, making it one of the biggest academic communities on campus. However, the EECS/CS department, and all Engineering departments in general, face major budgetary obstacles to making classes more accessible. Class enrollment is a painful process for most, and with discussions and labs filled over capacity, both students and TAs are hurt by improper allocations of funding. As your senator, I would demand that the university administration allocate the departmental budget for TAs strictly by student credit hours, which would substantially increase the budget for hiring academic staff in the College of Engineering. I would also work with the departments to ensure that students have greater access to classes and academic resources. Additionally, I would further develop the webcasting initiative and bring webcasting to any class that has over 200 students or that takes place before 10am or after 5pm.

2. Fixing a dysfunctional CalCentral:
The shift from TeleBears to CalCentral was watched with much anticipation and promise, but as many students discovered - it did not solve the problem of class enrollment. The rollout of the new system was accompanied with many glitches and removed features that students actually liked - like ScheduleBuilder, the ability to enroll in multiple classes in the same time slot, and much more. As your senator, I would work with the Chief Technology Officer of the ASUC and IT services to identify and mitigate against major bugs in the system, as well as transition to a brand-new schedule planning software. I would also conduct campus-wide surveys to detect bugs and draw up ideas for further improvement. Finally, I would work with the university administration to remove the ban on enrolling into classes with time conflicts, which would enable students to take the classes that matter the most to them.

3. Expanding availability of student spaces:
Students and student organizations find it very difficult to reserve spaces where they can study and carry out their activities on campus in an affordable and efficient manner due to unwieldy reservation processes and misaligned systems. As your senator, I would create a centralized database for reserving spaces on campus, and work to make non-ASUC spaces available to students. In addition, I would extend the Late Night Wheeler program to other buildings, such as Evans, so that students have access to spaces in the later hours of the night. Moreover, I would work with individual buildings and departments to provide discounts to campus-affiliated student organizations.


  • Director of EECS/CS Matters in the Office of ASUC Senator Ian Bullitt

    • Mobilized multiple ASUC Senators, CS organizations, faculty, and ASUC Executives to act upon the feedback given by students at the EECS Townhall Meeting.

    • Helped set up meetings with the Office of the EAVP to discuss approaching the UC Regents regarding increasing budgets.

  • Former President of Davidson-Griffiths Residence Hall Association

    • Lead positive, tangible changes to the residence halls such as placing benches outside the halls to provide additional study space and keeping basement study rooms open for extended hours through negotiating with facilities management.

    • Organized various social events for the dorms to foster a sense of community and garner interest towards Hall Association



  • Senator Andrew-Ian Bullitt, ASUC Senator* (2016-Present)
  • Senator Karthik Prasad, ASUC Senator* (2015-2016)

  • Megan Zhu, President*, Computer Science Undergraduate Association

  • Vatsal Patel, President*, Engineering Student Council and Vice-President*, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Berkeley

  • Abhishyant Khare, President*, CodeBase

  • Monsoon Pabrai, ASUC Senator* (2016-Present)

  • Sid Masih, Vice-President* of Industry Relations, Computer Science Undergraduate Association and Executive Board Member*, Blockchain at Berkeley

  • Caleb Wyllie, Vice-President* of Technology, Computer Science Undergraduate Association and Vice-President* of Technology, Eta Kappa Nu (HKN) (2015-2016)

  • Pal Makkar, Vice President of Internal Relations*, CodeBase

  • Senator Jason Tang, ASUC Senator* (2015-2016)

  • Vivek Jain, Vice-President* of Projects, CodeBase

  • Casey Takeda, Treasurer*, Upsilon Pi Epsilon (UPE)

  • Srinivasa Pranav, Information Technology Chair*, Tau Beta Pi (TBP)

  • Tanisha K Randhawa, President*, Engineers Without Borders (EWB)

  • Anish Khazane


* Titles for identification purposes only